ANNUAL COUNCIL

MINUTES of the Meeting held in the West Faversham Community Centre, Bysing Wood Road, Faversham, Kent ME13 7RH on Wednesday, 26 May 2021 from 7.00 pm - 8.20 pm.

PRESENT: Councillors Mike Baldock. Cameron Beart. Monique Bonney, Lloyd Bowen. Simon Clark (Deputy Mayor), Derek Carnell, Richard Darby, Steve Davey, Mike Dendor, Oliver Eakin, Simon Fowle, Tim Gibson, Alastair Gould, James Hall, Ann Hampshire, Nicholas Hampshire, Angela Harrison, Alan Horton, Ken Ingleton, Carole Jackson, Elliott Jayes, Denise Knights, Peter Marchington, Ben J Martin. Benjamin Martin, Lee McCall. Pete Neal. Richard Palmer. Ken Pugh, Hannah Perkin, Ken Rowles. Julian Saunders, David Simmons, Paul Stephen Sarah Stephen, Eddie Thomas. Roger Truelove, (Mayor), Tim Valentine, Ghlin Whelan, Mike Whiting, Tony Winckless and Corrie Woodford.

OFFICERS PRESENT: Billy Attaway, Jayne Bolas, David Clifford, Jo Millard and Larissa Reed.

APOLOGIES: Councillors Roger Clark, James Hunt, Peter Macdonald, Padmini Nissanga and Bill Tatton.

1 EMERGENCY EVACUATION PROCEDURE

The Mayor outlined the emergency evacuation procedure.

2 MINUTES

The Minutes of the Annual Council held on 15 July 2020 (Minute Nos. 1 - 16) and the Full Council meeting held on 31 March 2021 (Minute Nos. 590 - 607) were taken as read, approved and signed by the Mayor as correct records.

3 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No interests were declared.

4 APPOINTMENT OF MAYOR

The Chief Executive advised that the decision to appoint a Mayor-elect had been taken at the Council meeting held on 24 February 2021 where it was resolved that Councillor Paul Stephen would be re-elected as Mayor for the civic year 2021/22.

5 DECLARATION OF ACCEPTANCE BY INCOMING MAYOR

The Mayor read and signed his Declaration of Acceptance of Office and announced that Councillor Mrs Sarah Stephen would be his Mayoress for the Mayoral Year 2021/22.

Annual Council 26 May 2021

6 FORTHCOMING MAYORAL YEAR

The Mayor thanked members for his re-election. He explained that visits in his previous mayoral year had been limited due to the Covid-19 pandemic but he hoped the relaxation of restrictions would give more opportunities to meet residents in the Borough in the future. He thanked officers and the residents of Swale.

7 APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor advised that the decision to appoint a Deputy Mayor-elect was taken at the Council meeting held on 24 February 2021, where it was resolved that Councillor Simon Clark be elected Deputy Mayor for the civic year 2021/22.

8 DECLARATION OF ACCEPTANCE BY INCOMING DEPUTY MAYOR

The incoming Deputy Mayor read and signed his Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

9 VOTE OF THANKS TO RETIRING DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor, the Leader and Councillor Denise Knights all gave thanks to the retiring Deputy Mayor, Councillor Benjamin A Martin. Councillor Martin thanked Members for the opportunity to serve as Deputy Mayor, despite the limitations on visits due to the Covid-19 pandemic. He thanked officers for their support. The Mayor presented Councillor Martin with a shield in recognition of his term of office.

10 AMENDMENTS TO CONSTITUTION: CABINET ADVISORY COMMITTEES

The Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Planning introduced the report which set out proposed changes to the Council's committee structure by the deletion of the Policy Development and Review Committee and introduction of three Cabinet Advisory Committees. He said that the proposal would contribute to decision-making for all members and was a step towards a full committee system. He proposed the recommendation which was seconded by the Leader.

Resolved:

(1) That Council adopts the changes to Part 3.2.1 of the Council's constitution as set out in the report.

11 ESTABLISHMENT OF COMMITTEES AND THEIR TERMS OF REFERENCE

The Leader introduced the report which asked the Council to establish the Committees of the Council for the municipal year 2021/22 and to agree their terms of reference.

The Leader proposed the recommendation which was seconded by the Leader of the opposition.

Annual Council 26 May 2021

Resolved:

(1) That the Committees of the Council and Terms of Reference, as set out in Appendix I to the report, be agreed for the 2021/22 municipal year.

12 ALLOCATION OF COMMITTEE SEATS AND COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS FOR 2021/22

The Leader introduced the report and proposed the recommendations which were seconded by the Deputy Leader. On being put to the vote Members agreed recommendations 1 and 2.

As the chairmainships were contested for the General Licensing Committee and Licensing Act 2003 Committees, members of those Committees took a vote to appoint the Chairman and Vice-Chairman. Committee Members voted to appoint Councillor Derek Carnell as Chairman, and Councillor Tony Winckless as Vice-Chairman, on both Committees. On being put to the vote recommendation 3 was agreed.

Resolved:

- (1) That the political balance calculation as set out in Appendix I to the report be agreed.
- (2) That the allocation of seats to committees, in accordance with the wishes of Group Leaders, as set out in Appendix I to these minutes, be agreed and that the Leader's appointments to the Cabinet and their portfolios be noted.
- (3) That the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Committees as set out in Appendix II to these minutes, updated to include Councillor Derek Carnell and Councillor Tony Winckless as Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the General Licensing Committee and the Licensing Act 2003 Committee for the municipal year 2021/22 be agreed.

13 BOROUGH COUNCIL NOMINATIONS TO OUTSIDE BODIES AND TRUSTS ADMINISTERED BY SWALE BOROUGH COUNCIL AND STATUTORY BODIES

The Leader introduced the report which set out the nominations received from all groups. He proposed the recommendations which were seconded by the Deputy Leader.

The Mayor explained the voting procedure in respect of those outside bodies that had more nominations than seats as below:

- · Action with Communities in Rural Kent;
- Bensted's Charity;
- Citizen's Advice Services Swale (formerly CAB);
- Council for Voluntary Services (CVS);
- Kent Downs Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB) Joint Advisory Committee;

Annual Council 26 May 2021

- Lower Medway Internal Drainage Board;
- Oare Gunpowder Works Advisory Group;
- Sheppey Matters;
- West Faversham Community Association.

During the discussion, Councillor David Simmons withdrew from being nominated for the Kent Downs AONB Joint Advisory Committee, Councillors Benjamin A Martin, James Hunt and Alan Horton withdrew from the Lower Medway Internal Drainage Board, Councillor Lloyd Bowen withdrew from Oare Gunpowder Works, Councillor Richard Darby withdrew from Sheppey Matters and Councillor David Simmons withdrew from West Faversham Community Association.

Upon being put to the vote, the Mayor announced the results. The complete list of outside body appointments are attached as Appendix III to these Minutes.

Resolved:

(1) That the Borough Council nominations on outside bodies and trusts administered by Swale Borough Council and statutory bodies be as set out in Appendix III to these minutes.

14 CONFIRMATION OF TIMETABLE OF MEETINGS

The Leader proposed the recommendation which was seconded by the Leader of the Opposition.

Resolved:

(1) That the timetable of meetings for the 2021/22 municipal year be noted.

Chairman

Copies of this document are available on the Council website http://www.swale.gov.uk/dso/. If you would like hard copies or alternative versions (i.e. large print, audio, different language) we will do our best to accommodate your request please contact Swale Borough Council at Swale House, East Street, Sittingbourne, Kent, ME10 3HT or telephone the Customer Service Centre 01795 417850.

All Minutes are draft until agreed at the next meeting of the Committee/Panel