GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE

MINUTES of the Meeting held in the Committee Room, Swale House, East Street, Sittingbourne, Kent, ME10 3HT on Wednesday, 18 March 2020 from 5.30pm - 5.36 pm.

PRESENT: Councillors Mike Baldock (Vice-Chairman), Angela Harrison, Denise Knights, Richard Palmer, Roger Truelove (Chairman) and Corrie Woodford.

OFFICERS PRESENT: Jo Millard and Emma Wiggins.

ALSO IN ATTENDANCE: Councillors Steve Davey and Benjamin Martin.

630 EMERGENCY EVACUATION PROCEDURE

The Chairman outlined the emergency evacuation procedure.

631 MINUTES

The Minutes of the Meeting held on 12 February 2020 (Minute Nos. 506 - 510) were taken as read, approved and signed by the Chairman as a correct record.

632 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No interests were declared.

633 CHANGES TO THE CONSTITUTION - AREA COMMITTEES

The Committee considered the tabled report and Appendix I, circulated to Members earlier in the week, which set out the proposed changes to the Constitution in order to set up and administer area committees across the Borough.

The Chairman explained that there had been a lot of discussion, including listening to the views of the opposition, and some suggested amendments had been included. He explained that whilst Full Council still needed to agree the document, preparations by the Cabinet Member and officers needed to be made now rather than wait for the next Full Council meeting. The Chairman thanked everyone for attending the meeting, particularly officers and proposed the recommendation which was seconded by Councillor Denise Knights.

Recommended:

(1) That the wording at Appendix I be inserted in the Constitution and submitted to Council for recommendation.

Chairman

Copies of this document are available on the Council website http://www.swale.gov.uk/dso/. If you would like hard copies or alternative versions (i.e. large print, audio, different language) we will do our best to accommodate your request please contact Swale Borough Council at Swale House, East Street, Sittingbourne, Kent, ME10 3HT or telephone the Customer Service Centre 01795 417850.

All Minutes are draft until agreed at the next meeting of the Committee/Panel